50 Miles of Gratitude: (4) Massage


….and My Story Runs On….

I was never really a big massage person.  I dated a massage therapist before my current boyfriend and that’s when I really started understanding the importance of them. It’s another way to help heal your body and gives you way more benefits than you can imagine.  I can see tension when I’m trying to get my ChiRunners and ChiWalkers to relax and if they tell me they can’t, I always recommend a massage as ONE of the modalities (not the only one!).

I hate to admit that I did not get any massages during my training and should’ve. The reason this blog is coming up now is because I just had one yesterday from Andre Lee of ALL4U Massage & Bodywork. I met him at Running for Brews Tempe and he has been active member for the 2.5 years.  He’s also a triathlete, runner, biker and knows the importance of taking care of your body…regardless of what you do.

“Experts estimate that upwards of 90% of disease is stress-related. And perhaps nothing ages us faster, internally and externally, than high stress. Massage is an effective tool for managing this stress, which translates into:

  • Decreased anxiety.
  • Enhanced sleep quality.
  • Greater energy.
  • Improved concentration.
  • Increased circulation.
  • Reduced fatigue.”

Ironically I had no major pain when I went to see Andre but I knew getting a massage was what my body needed.  And he did not disappoint!  He did a full body massage and it was incredible!  One of the reasons I like Andre’s massages is that he is intuitive and can tell what your body needs between what you tell him and what he can feel.  I have not updated my website as I write this but he will be included on my Power Partners page when I do.

No matter what life you lead, I guarantee you, your mind and body are carrying some kind of stress.  Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a massage! My lesson learned was that I should’ve done them more often..especially during this training process!

You can find Andre’s website here: ALL4U Massage & Bodywork and he is also on Facebook.

50 Miles of Gratitude: 50 Posts about my first 50 Miler

From My Running Story to Yours….
(if you feel inspired to share your comments, do so below…I want to hear your story too!)

Leave a Reply

